Make your own free website on

Jim Hill High School

Position Paper: The Advantages and Needs of INTASC Standards for Pre-Service Teachers
INTASC Standards Reflection (Behavior Management)
INTASC Standards Reflection (Reading)
Model Standards for Beginning Teacher Licensing, Assessment and Development
Interstate New Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (INTASC)
Position Paper: Classroom Management
Position Paper: The Foundation of Every State is its Youth
PowerPoint of a Lesson
April Logs
Empirical Research- Problem Based Learning/ Instruction
March Logs
Research Paper- Methods and Strategies of Teaching
February Logs
Two Week Lesson Plan (April 21 & April 28) Integrated Theme
Two Week Lesson Plan (March 31) 10 Week Thematic Unit
Two Week Lesson Plan (April 21 & April 28) Block Schedule
Lesson Plan (Reteaching)
Lesson Plan (Diversity)
Lesson Plan (Technology)
My Journey Through Student Teaching
January Logs
Case Study Reflective Journals
Empirical Research-Assessments
Empirical Research- At-Risk Students
Empirical Research- Teacher Education
Empirical Research- Early Intervention
Position Paper: Rationales for Discrepancies between Abilities and Achievement
Position Paper: The Advantages and Needs of INTASC Standards for Pre-Service Teachers
How INTASC Standards are Applied in my Lesson Plans
Position Paper: Parent Involvement
Behavior Management Mini-Portfolio
What is an Effective Teacher
No Child Left Behind Act
Two Week Lesson Plan (Jan. 28 & Feb. 11) Block Schedule
Two Week Lesson Plan (March 10 & March 25) Block Schedule
Two Week Lesson Plan (Feb. 18 & March 3) Block Schedule
Basic Philosophies of Education
Why I Want to be a Teacher
Philosophy of Education


The Advantages and Needs of   INTASC Standards for Pre-Service Teachers


The Interstate New Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (INTASC) was founded by a number of education organizations such as the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS), committees of practicing teachers, teachers, and school leaders.  INTASC is a list of standards that explains what every teacher should know and be able to do in order to teach effectively.  It is used as the foundation for many teacher preparation programs. There are ten categories that make up these INTASC standards, each of which are essential for educators to incorporate.

The first and second standards include being competent in the subject area and understanding how children learn. If teachers are knowledgeable of their subject they will be able to provide a more detailed explanation to their students. As a result, the students will learn more. Understanding how children learn will allow the teacher to provide instructional strategies that will ensure better learning experiences for all students.

The third standard includes understanding how students differ in their approaches to learning. Pre-service teachers need to know that all students are different in the ways they obtain knowledge. Understanding the several different approaches to learning will allow for diverse learners to be successful in the classroom.

The fourth standard includes using a variety of instructional strategies when instructing. The advantage of providing several different methods of instruction is that all students, no matter how different they learn, will attain an understanding of the lesson being taught. All types of learners will have an opportunity to achieve when their teacher is using many different instructional strategies. When students are being taught in a way that best suits their learning style, they become more involved in the lesson and are more likely to be successful in the given task.

The fifth standard includes using individual and group motivation. A teacher who uses an understanding of individual and group motivation creates a learning environment that encourages positive social interaction among the students. It also allows for active engagement in the learning process and self-motivation. Some students learn better when working individually, while others learn better when working in groups. By allowing students to engage in both types of learning, the teacher is serving both types of learners.

The sixth standard includes using effective communication and technology. Teachers who use clear verbal and nonverbal communication provide a more comprehensible atmosphere for students. They also promote supportive interaction in the classroom.

The seventh and eighth standards include planning for instruction and using formal and informal assessments. A benefit of planning for instruction is that by doing so, a teacher will maintain a constant flow in his or her instruction. An advantage of using formal and informal assessments is to be able to evaluate and ensure continuous intellectual development from the students.

The ninth standard includes reflecting and seeking opportunities to grow professionally. By reflecting, the teacher will be able to assess what he or she is doing and may need to make the necessary adjustments. For example, a teacher may reflect on how he or she taught a lesson the previous day and may notice that many of the students did not grasp the concept being taught. As a result, this teacher can make changes in the way he or she teaches the next lesson. Teachers who look for opportunities to grow professionally will have more to offer their students because they would have more knowledge than their colleagues.

The tenth standard includes collaborating and forming relationships with colleagues, parents and agencies in the community. The advantage of collaborating with theses individuals is being able to obtain the support needed to educate the students. For example, parents usually know more about their children because they are with them most of the time. Therefore, parents will be able to provide helpful hints on the students’ interests that may be beneficial to the teacher. The teacher can use these hints to provide more stimulating and intriguing lessons for the students that match their unique interests.

In conclusion, INTASC standards are very much necessary to truly be effective in the classroom. It is vital the every teacher abide by the ten principles listed as the INTASC standards because these standards will ensure effective teaching, as well as effective learning from the students.





Enter content here

Enter supporting content here